home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2021-11-08
brain agreement


I concluded my fall detox, Friday. I was a little conflicted about it and thinking about extending it for a few more weeks. The cravings woke up, all of a sudden, in the last couple of weeks. I finally arrived at a compromise: I would end my fall detox but permanently remove beer from my alcoholic diet. I feel like I get more mileage out of a bottle of brandy or bourbon; a couple glasses will see me through an evening. I think I prefer these slow, sipping beverages. I'm interested to see how this experiment plays out in the next couple of months--if I'll still feel a great urge to begin a spring detox as early as February as has been my custom for the last two or three years. Probably. As much as I enjoy drinking, I also enjoy prolonged periods of not drinking. What was it R. said to me some years back? Something like, "You know what I've noticed about you, Harold? When you get your brain to agree with you on something, you're pretty good at sticking with it."


previous | next