home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2021-06-18
skin & hair


I slant toward the liquor store in the late afternoon to replenish dead, empty bottles. All the pretty ladies of summer are achingly beautiful. Their skin and hair smell like sunshine and swimming pools. It's easy for me to pretend I'm trespassing in a year from many decades ago.

I want to hear you sing, before you're old and gone. I want to see the color of your eyes in the early morning light.

I meet my dead father on porches of sleep. He had life so much together, when he was my age. I am lost and alone and trying to keep my tenuous existence intact until it's time for it to end. I think he would want more for me but would also be pleased that I managed to avoid some of the mortal pitfalls of life.



previous | next