home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2021-03-20
early morning listening


I'm on another sobriety binge. My last drink was February 18. My next checkpoint is April 2. But I may extend my detox to Memorial Day weekend. The cravings, this time around, have been pretty weak. Vague murmurs, really. The benefits of increased duration and quality of sleep--and feeling my body thin out--kind of outweigh the enjoyment I get from drinking. I do, however, look forward to a glass of bourbon in the near or distant future. I have a feeling that, in the coming years, my cessation will become permanent.

* * *

This morning was an early hike across the city for coffee. I enjoy the peace and quiet of the city before it wakes up. Of course, there hasn't been much waking up in the last twelve months. It's nice to stand alone in the sunlight and enjoy the cold air and the blue sky and think about nothing, really.

* * *

My employer has three offices downtown. Since these spaces are mostly dead, we are consolidating everything into the one office where I am based. I have been busy helping get everything packed up for the moves. I like it best when the bosses aren't around and I can work alone. Give me a to-do list, and leave me the fuck alone. I love working alone in peace and quiet. And that was my preference before the bullshit lockdowns. I always liked it when the office cleared out in the days before a holiday. There are a few people I miss--but only a few.

* * *

I am all for the effort to recall Governor Newsom. I never liked this arrogant scumbag or his policies. I will be pleased if he is removed, his future political ambitions severely kneecapped. But, this is California. He will likely be replaced with someone just like him. Oh, well. Life is too brief for me to think any of this stuff is all that important.



previous | next