home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2021-01-25
ice cream & opium


I woke up, naked, in my bed--between two long rows of desks on the 19th floor of the office. The lights were off, but the office was smoky grey from the afternoon light through the windows. The desks were clear save for the dual-arm monitors, the screens still black. Smell of dusty carpet. Dripping sounds in the exposed pipes along the ceiling. The patio door was open, fog blowing in from the dead city. Faint ghosts of neighboring office towers.

A woman--a pale blonde--who used to work in the office appeared out of the fog, crossed the patio, and stepped through the open doorway. She was naked except for a surgical mask and a pair of black yoga pants. She approached my bedside. She tore the mask away and pulled off her pants. She sat, completely naked, on the edge of my bed. She turned the pants inside out and placed the crotch over my nose and mouth. The material was so warm. I could smell her body. Her scent was a delirious joy I can't quite describe--made me think of ice cream and opium. She jerked me off, while I inhaled her scent through the crotch of her pants.

And then there was this incredible heat in my ear, her mouth now inches away. Her breath tunneled through my right ear, left metallic echoes tumbling around in my skull, before audibly exiting my left ear and fading into the shadows of the office.

All of the monitor screens suddenly lit up with this glaring white light, flickered, then went black again. My vision, too, flickered before going completely black. When I regained consciousness, I was turned on my side, my body breathing slowly and deeply. I again thought of ice cream and opium. She was wiping her hand on the bed sheet. She then neatly folded her pants and tucked them between my cheek and the pillow. "You can have these," she whispered without moving her lips. She pulled the blankets up over my body. She rose and, still completely naked, stepped through the doorway, crossed the patio, and disappeared into the fog.

I blacked out again. I woke up, still in bed, but back in my apartment. The door was wide open. I sat up in bed. I now wore a t-shirt and sweatpants. There was no sign of the naked woman or the black yoga pants. I stepped outside my apartment. It was dark outside--no fog, just a heavy wind tearing through the remains of my dead neighborhood. I stepped back into my apartment and closed the door. I sat quietly with what felt like loss and emptiness.



previous | next