home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2018-09-02
wagon up the trail


I've been flirting with the idea of another sobriety binge. I just re-read my entries from last fall, when I did my extended detox. I think I might like revisiting that state of mind for a while--or at least for a week with the option to extend it further. Maybe I should revisit the Stoics, as well.

I've been reading Garrett M. Graff's, "Raven Rock: The Story Of The U.S. Government's Secret Plan To Save Itself--While The Rest Of Us Die". It's all about US continuity of government and secret facilities in which to survive and conduct nuclear war. This kind of stuff gives me a serious boner.

Low's new album, "Double Negative", is being released on September 14. I pre-ordered a limited-edition clear vinyl copy--as I'm not sure the clear vinyl will be available anywhere other than directly from Sub Pop. I found a used copy of "Ones and Sixes" (which I've had on cd since it was released) on yellow vinyl during my recent Amoeba excursion and eagerly snatched it up. I love Alan and Mimi so much. I hope they return to SF soon. No dates on the fall tour. Maybe early in 2019?

Other recent acquisitions:

Ty Segal & White Fence - "Joy"
Yo La Tengo - "Fakebook"
The Stooges - "Fun House" (kind of light red--almost pink--vinyl)
Guided By Voices - "Half Smiles of the Decomposed"



previous | next