home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2017-04-22
rsd 2017


Just got back from Record Store Day at Amoeba. I arrived at 8:30 a.m. for the 10 a.m. opening. I pretty much got all the top picks on my list:

--Brian Jonestown Massacre - "Pol Pot's Pleasure Penthouse" (nice blue-green vinyl)

--The Black Angels - "Death Song"

--Sun Ra - "Discipline 27-II"

--Sun Ra - "Janus" (yellow and black swirl vinyl)

--"The Art Pepper Quartet" (clear vinyl)

--"Southwest Side Story Vol. 19" (Texas crude black vinyl)

I also picked up a Patti Smith 7" for IL. I wanted to get her the Prince 7" picture disc, but that was sold out.

I'm in a near-euphoric mood, but this still doesn't compare to RSD last year, when IL was here and we spent the whole day together. I miss her. Not sure what is going on with her. She reported, a few weeks ago, that she and her fiance were splitting and that she was thinking about going to Colorado. But then she texted me earlier that she's still in Dallas and that she's "back at home" after playing a show at a RSD event. So maybe they patched things up? I hope so. I want her to be in a stable, supportive environment. She said she would call me tonight and bring me up to speed.



previous | next