home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2014-10-28
fear of clocks and calendars


It was getting dark outside. I stopped by Walgreens, after work, to stock up on garbage bags and paper towels. There were few other customers in the store. I felt a giant wave of sadness and existential terror as I browsed the pre-made salads and sandwiches. I'd like to think that I'm searching this life, this world, for something more substantial than just a way out. Whatever it is, it can't be found on the shelves of Walgreens. It can't be found in the traffic lights outside. Humans are always searching for something that can't be found--and fleeing from something that can't be escaped. Everywhere I go in this city, I see new buildings and young faces. But between the buildings and faces is a darkness that is old and heavy--and is as patient as a reptile or a stone.


previous | next