home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2012-04-24
record store day


Seasonal allergies gang-raped my head all weekend. I went to Amoeba, Saturday morning, for Record Store Day. There was actually a line to get into the store. And the line stretched down the street and around the block. I still managed to find a few items from my list of Record Store Day releases:

The Black Angels - "Watch Out Boy"/"I'd Rather Be Lonely" 7" orange vinyl

M. Ward - "Primitive Girl" 7" with a nice cover of "Roll Over Beethoven" on the b-side.

"The Rough Guide to Psychedelic Africa" 180gram limited edition vinyl

"The Rough Guide to the Music of New Orleans" 180gram limited edition vinyl

The checkout line was as long as the line to get into the store. So I started looking at cd's and grabbed the following:

Lee Ranaldo - "Between the Times and the Tides"

Thee Oh Sees - "Castlemania"

Sic Alps - "U.S. EZ"

The checkout line seemed to be getting longer. It took me a good 30 to 45 minutes before I finally reached a cash register. But it was worth it. I'm glad I went. And I'm glad so many people love records.

I spent the rest of the weekend holed up in secret motel, listening to my new purchases and drinking my way through the hours. I don't write much anymore. I guess it's because I'd rather not think about the things that enter my head when I'm still and quiet. I'm in full escapist mode. But, really, I never escape. As I've written before, the only way out is out.



previous | next