home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2006-08-15
portable stillness


1. I sit on the train, staring into the world through my fog glasses. Passengers enter my field of vision. They exit my field of vision. Someone takes a seat across from me. I sit very still and stare into them and try to count the molecules. He or she rises and moves to another seat. Through the window, pretty ladies high-heel the sidewalk.

2. A co-worker laughed and said, "I saw you standing by the elevator, Harold, with that box in your arms. And you looked so STILL that, for a minute, I thought you were one of those cardboard cut-outs."

3. Sitting in secret motel, I'm disturbed when a cd concludes or a needle reaches the center of the record and is lifted home. I am very still for many long moments, wondering where all that silence is coming from.



previous | next