home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2006-06-29
waterlogged


I'm debating about whether or not to apply for a job listing I saw yesterday. The pay is roughly comparable (maybe a little less) to what I make now. It's, more or less, the same kind of work. And it's much, much closer to secret motel. But I don't want to leave the comfort, security, and familiarity of my present job, though that comfort, security, and familiarity now fluctuate on a day-to-day basis. I'm inclined to--for lack of a better cliche--weather the storm and see what happens. I tend to be very conservative with such matters--preferring to "ride it out" and see what happens rather than risk putting myself into a new situation that may be worse. Although my position seems secure for now, the company and work environment keep changing, and I'm not sure if it's for the better. It's too soon to tell, really. I don't see myself being really motivated to change employers until it gets to the point where I dread coming to work each day. And I'm nowhere near that point. I'm not one to start swimming until I get wet. Most days I'm pretty excited to come in and cook up the morning routine, despite the increasing number of empty cubes and offices and the remaining numbers of hurt, bitter, and uncertain souls shuffling around me.


previous | next