home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2013-10-06
alan & mimi


SF has this big, free three-day music festival in Golden Gate Park every year. I went out there, Friday afternoon, to see Low. I wasn't sure their music would be well-suited for a hot, sunny afternoon. But they sounded great. And they played "Dinosaur Act" (Jenny!). After that, I wandered through the crowd and caught the tail-end of The Evens (Ian MacKaye on guitar and his wife on drums) on another stage but didn't hear enough to register an opinion. It would be another hour before Calexico's set, but I was tired, burning, and weary of the crowds. I've never been an all-day festival sort. I make it point to see one or two artists that I really, really like (in this case, Low), and then I'm out of there before I'm out of air.


previous | next