home | | | | | |archive | | | | | |profile | | | | | |notes | | | | | |previous | | | | | |next


2013-01-11
cuckoo dream


In last night's dream, I attended a small gathering/reunion with my mother, both of my sisters, and maybe a dozen other relatives. Someone--sister C., I think--cried because we surprised her and it had been the first time in a long time that we had all been together in the same room.

I didn't socialize much in the dream. I found a remote and turned on a big, flat-screen tv. "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" was playing. Sister S. and I talked about the film and how it compared to the Ken Kesey novel on which it is based. "It's one of the best books I've ever read," I said.

[This is a sentiment I share in waking life, as well. To this day, I've never watched the film. I had many opportunities to view it when I was a kid but thought it looked old and silly. I found a copy of the book a couple years ago at work. When I finally got around to reading it, I was pleasantly surprised by how great it was. And it really is one of the best novels I've ever read.]

The whole family was quiet, as we watched the film. I couldn't really enjoy it, as I was conscious of my mother watching with this tight-jawed look on her face. I think she disapproved of the violence and the coarse language. Nurse Ratched appeared on the screen. S. said that if she ever met the actress who played Ratched, she would want her to autograph page six in S.'s copy of the book. I wasn't sure if that actress was still alive, and I didn't ask S. about the significance of page six.

I grabbed my copy of the book, when I woke up from this dream. There is no page six in my copy. The story begins on page nine, and that's the first numbered page in my copy.



previous | next